Night of Giants set for 9/29 to honor outstanding alumni

Patricia GibsonUncategorized

Marion Community Schools, in partnership with the Marion High School Alumni Association, will honor exceptional alumni during Homecoming Weekend this year. 

The 2023 inductees for the Marion High School Hall of Distinction, along with the MHS Athletics Hall of Fame and the MHS Arts Hall of Fame, will be honored at the Night of Giants ceremony, set for Friday, Sept. 29, at the Walton Performing Arts Center at Marion High School. The ceremony will start at 5 p.m. and is free and open to the public. Doors will open at 4:30 p.m.

MHS Hall of Distinction

This year’s inductees are:

  • Alisha Alaimo, Class of 1993, President and Head of North America for Biogen, a leading global biotechnology company that drives innovations for complex and devastating diseases
  • Richard Booth, Class of 1969, Professor and McGuinn Chair in Business Law at Villanova Law School; internationally recognized expert and author in business law and finance; admitted to the bars of New York, Texas, U.S. Supreme Court
  • Trent Dailey, Class of 1999, owner and CEO of Insurance Management Group and Grant County Abstract; active philanthropist and community leader who has served on the board for many local organizations
  • Jerry McVicker, Class of 1963, longtime educator who served Marion Community Schools for 35 years in various teaching and administrative roles including interim superintendent; and who also served as a bank director for 25 years
  • Jeff Todd, Class of 1980, Grant Superior Court judge; created the first certified Reentry program in Indiana, designed to connect previously incarcerated people with treatments and resources and to help them reintegrate into the community
  • Eric Walts, Class of 1984, President/CEO of Premier Home Health Care and Suite Living Senior Living Community, former Grant County Commissioner

The MHS Hall of Distinction gives lasting recognition to alumni who have made exceptional contributions to the achievements and prestige of Marion Community Schools. It also serves to help inspire current students to aspire to similar success.

Any MHS alumnus who graduated at least five years ago and who has made substantial contributions to the achievements of Marion Community Schools or whose exemplary actions reflect honor on MCS is eligible for nomination. The Hall seeks to honor men and women who have distinguished themselves through superb accomplishment on a local, state or national level in diverse fields of endeavor.

Non-MHS graduates may be afforded honorary status in the MHS Hall of Distinction.

MHS Athletics Hall of Fame

  • Alisha Alaimo, Class of 1993, All-State gymnast and record-holding diver 
  • Mike Smith, Class of 1975, All-State track and field / record-holding state runner-up long jumper, football player, basketball player, baseball player
  • Steve Ward, Class of 1965, All-NCC track and field / state runner-up high jumper, All-NCC football player, basketball player
  • Jenny Wisser, Class of 2003, record-holding basketball player and volleyball player
  • Jimmy Donald, golf coach, two state runner-up titles
  • Moe Smedley, basketball coach, state championship title
  • 1971 golf team, state finalists

MHS Arts Hall of Fame

  • Trent Nukes, Class of 1988, technical director who has earned five Emmy Awards for live sports and entertainment broadcasts