Marion High School Hall of Distinction 2020 inductees named

Patricia GibsonMCS News, MHSAA News

Marion Community Schools is pleased to announce the 2020 inductees to the Marion High School Hall of Distinction.

The selection committee chose eight inductees:

  • Jerry D. Whitton, Marion High School Class of 1959, longtime teacher and administrator at Marion Community Schools, director of Tucker Area Vocational and Career Center
  • Mark Tracy Boatwright, Marion High School Class of 1960, Vietnam veteran, firefighter, Marion City Council Member, Indiana State Representative, Indiana Fire Marshal, co-founder of the Hoosier Burn Camp
  • Richard Osburn, Marion High School Class of 1963, worked at NASA on navigation systems for both the Apollo and Space Shuttle programs, one of the youngest engineers to man a console during the Apollo moon landings
  • Howard “Mickey” Livingston, Marion High School Class of 1969, founder of a large and successful manufacturing business, award-winning singer and the Florida Keys’ favorite local celebrity and dedicated philanthropist 
  • Jim Walton, Marion High School Class of 1973, longtime Broadway performer, award-winning playwright, who uses his talents to support many arts-related causes, including supporting the arts at Marion Community Schools
  • Kenneth Alan Browner, Marion High School Class of 1982, teacher who helped develop African American history and ethnic studies curricula for Indianapolis area schools, well-respected track coach, Indiana Association of Track & Cross Country Coaches Hall of Fame inductee
  • Lesley Weaver, Ph.D, Marion High School Class of 2004, molecular biologist and researcher who is set to join the faculty of Indiana University this fall, active mentor who works to recruit, retain, and support underrepresented minorities in STEM-related fields,  
  • Jim Brunner, honorary inductee, longtime local sports broadcaster, “Voice of the Marion Giants”, Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees Member, City Council Member

The 2020 inductees will be honored at an induction ceremony and banquet set for Saturday, Sept. 19, 2020, at the Barnes Student Center, Indiana Wesleyan University, part of Marion Giants homecoming weekend. More details and ticket information will be provided closer to the date of the event. Inductees will also be honored at the Giants’ homecoming football game on Friday, Sept. 18.

The MHS Hall of Distinction gives lasting recognition to alumni who have made exceptional contributions to the achievements and prestige of Marion Community Schools. It also serves to help inspire current students to aspire to similar success.

Any MHS alumnus who graduated at least five years ago and who has made substantial contributions to the achievements of Marion Community Schools or whose exemplary actions reflect honor on MCS is eligible for nomination. The Hall seeks to honor men and women who have distinguished themselves through superb accomplishment on a local, state or national level in diverse fields of endeavor.

Non-MHS graduates may be afforded honorary status in the MHS Hall of Distinction.The nomination period will be reopened next year. For more information, including nomination forms and details on previous inductees, visit the Alumni section of the Marion Community Schools website,